Writing a novel is like giving birth … very, very slowly

5 04 2010

So if you are reading this, then you probably have read the first chapter of my novel. If not, then stop what you’re doing and look at the post below this one. OK to all those who left to read the first chapter, welcome back. We’re glad you rejoined us.

About four months ago, my work ended with Vita-Mix in Cleveland. At that time, I just assumed I would find another full-time job and get back into the workforce, even if it took some time. However, God had other plans for me. It quickly became obvious that there was a different path he had prepared for me. About a year ago now, Erin left her job at the hospital to work from home under the umbrella of Addison’s Compass, her marketing and public relations company. I had been helping her as I could during my time at Vita-Mix. But now that I was free to pursue a new avenue, it became very clear that God wanted me to work from home, too.

In the last month, I’ve gotten a few clients and am working to find more. But I’ve also had the time to finally start the novel I’ve been waiting years to start on. It’s as if this story has been incubating in my head for much longer than 9 months, and now, after some labor pains and some false labor, it finally is on the way out. My baby is finally coming, after all this time.

As an expectant parent, you wait and wonder for 9 months. Wonder if it will be a boy or a girl. Brown or blonde hair. Blue or brown eyes. Tall or short. Cute or … well they say there are no ugly babies. But I’m not sure that’s true. Writing this novel is kind of like that, too. I know where I’m starting, I know the characters (or at least most of them. More may come as I write the story), and I know where I want to end up. But the exact path the story will take to reach that point is still developing. So I’m excited to see where the story will go, just as all of you who have read the first chapter are. Or at least I hope you are excited to see where it goes. That’s the highest compliment you can pay any thriller/sci-fi writer. We want you to have an uncontrolable desire to keep turning pages. We want you to wonder what’s coming next. So as this long, long labor continues, I hope you continue to be surprised and keep wondering what color eyes this baby is going to have.

I’m guessing brown.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

