Freelancing – A fool’s errand?

7 04 2010

They say an attorney who represents themself in court has a fool for a client. What about someone who has themselves for a boss? Well as a relatively new member of the freelancing world, I don’t think I have a fool for a boss. But sometimes, you have to wonder.

Since my time with Vita-Mix ended in December, I have made the decision to try and find enough clients to be able to work from home. Together with my fiance Erin, we are working to get some positive momentum going for Addison’s Compass (www.addisonscompass.com).

While it is very exciting, it is also scary, too. I have gotten a few clients, but there are always complications and changes that just make everything so uncertain. It seems like for every two steps forward, it’s one step back. So I’m taking baby steps and putting a lot of faith in God. Everyday, besides doing work for my clients, I also spend time looking for more work.

The freelance world is so competitive. There are thousands of people in a similar situation to myself. So you have to try and find some way to make yourself stand out from the crowd. For myself, I think my wide range of writing styles that I have worked with and my experience with layout/design, photography and now videography help me stand out. And with Erin’s marketing background and her writing, our company has a lot to offer, and we’re willing to work with people on rates.

We’re still working to find our niche and find out exactly what avenue will give us the best potential for growth and success. But we believe that with a little luck, a lot of hard work and tons of prayer, our dreams can become a reality.

Actions

Information

One response

8 04 2010
Erin

I think that God is directing our talents to many people’s path while also allowing us to enjoy our small children. This is so much fun! Thank you for taking a leap of faith with me and with our business.

Leave a Reply

