If you write it, they will read.

23 04 2010

Writing is such a labor of love. I love to write, so usually I don’t really consider it labor. I could sit and write all day long. OK so some days I DON’T do much more than write, it’s true. My fiance Erin pointed out the other day that I am easily content, that I would be perfectly happy to sit all day with my laptop on my lap and my fingers flying across the keys. While that’s not always 100% true, there is a lot of truth in it. I am just born to write.

I am having so much fun writing my novel and sharing it with my family and friends. I am probably crazy (and all of you who know me well are nodding right now, thinking “Yep, He’s crazy.”) but I believe that when this novel is finished, it will end up on bookshelves somewhere. I don’t know how, yet, but I know that it will happen.

When I look at one of the many bookshelves in our home, I can see my own book there, next to the likes of Stephen King, Ted Dekker and Michael Crichton. When I go to a bookstore, I envision my book on the shelves. I can picture the cover, the jacket description of my book, my photo. Eww OK. Maybe no photo. I have thought about what kind of photo I want and I think I’m going to go with the serious but approachable look. No smile, but not darnright scary either. Know what I mean? LOL OK maybe you think that’s a little too much detail to be picturing for a book that is still in the very early stages of being birthed. But I think it’s nevery too early to start with the power of positive thinking. Having a clearly defined, visualized goal before you can go a long way toward helping you achieve that goal.

For pretty much my whole life, I have wanted to write a novel, to be able to say that I am a writer, and now that is becoming reality. It’s already been a long and winding road to this point and I can’t even imagine what twists and turns lie ahead as I continue to follow this path.

I know there are thousands of other unpublished authors out there with the same dream. It’s kind of like in basketball. Millions of boys grow up with dreams of being the next Michael Jordan or LeBron James. However, only 3 percent of all NCAA Division I college basketball players end up in the NBA. And that’s not even taking into account all the players from smaller colleges. Or high school players who don’t even make it to college ball. So for every Kevin Durant, there are thousands of kids who have no hope of playing in the NBA. Yet every night, from September through June, you can turn on your TV and watch 20-35 year old men running up and down the court firing up 3-pointers and performing aerial feats. My point? While it may be a longshot, it is possible. Now, if I were sitting here saying I would play in the NBA and I knew it to be true, then I would hope someone would get me some help, or at least slap me upside the head. But I’m not. I’m saying that I am going to get a novel published. God hasn’t given me the ability to run fast, jump high or shoot 3-pointers like LBJ. But He has given me the ability to write, and to write well.

Now before you write me off as egotistical or delusional, there’s an important fact to remember. Right now, no one may know the name Tim Busbey. Well if you are reading this, then maybe YOU know. But, my fan base is certainly not as legion as a Stephen King, or even Ted Dekker. But think about it. Forty years ago, no one knew who Stephen King was. Fifteen years ago, Ted Dekker was just a struggling writer who had left his job in corporate America to pursue a newfound passion. And now, their readers number in the thousands, or millions. I don’t know that I’ll ever be as “big” as either of those two authors and that’s OK. Of course, I wouldn’t mind if that were the case. But I just want to be able to make a living writing novels, comic books, maybe TV shows and movies some day, while Erin and I run our little bookstore/coffee shop/art gallery that we want to have. And that will happen.

Sometimes, at 37, I feel old. I feel like if I haven’t “made” it yet, I never will. That is such crazy thinking, from the Devil himself. He wants us to doubt ourselves and be less than God wants us to be. God has big plans for each of us, many times bigger than we can imagine or believe. We feel unworthy or incapable or afraid. But if we step out in faith and are following the path we believe God has in store for us, you will reach your goal. The challenge is finding the exact path God has in store for you.

I’ve known I would be a writer since I was in the 4th grade. As a kid, I made up stories based on my favorite characters at that time – G.I. Joe, Star Wars, Transformers. Long before George Lucas had approved the Expanded Universe Star Wars novels, I had written my own tales of what happened to Luke, Han and Leia after “The Return of the Jedi.” In junior high, I really fell in love with journalism and decided to follow that as a career. And for the next 20 years or so, that’s what was the path I pursued. After graduating from Bowling Green State University with a degree in journalism, I worked in the newspaper industry for 11 years. Then, 3 years ago, doors opened for me to get into advertising, copywriting and marketing. I was able to get some valuable experience with a couple of companies in Cleveland. Now, I am doing that kind of work from home with the love of my life, Erin, and have finally started writing my novel that has been percolating in my head for a long time. So, it looks like for now, what God has in store for me is to work from home writing for Websites and what ever other writing work He brings my way, while also finishing my novel. Then once it’s done, the fun will just be starting. I already know what my next novel is going to be, unless some other stroke of inspiration more strongly strikes before I get to that point. But we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. For now, I am just believing that when I am done writing this novel, someone will like it enough to publish it, and then people will read it.

Thanks for joining me on my journey. If you don’t already, you can join me on Facebook or Twitter. Please feel free to write. Say hi. Ask a question. Whatever.

Until next time.

www.facebook.com/timbusbey

www.twitter.com/tbusbey

Actions

Information

One response

25 04 2010
Erin

Awww….I am so happy at all your growth, faith, and belief in yourself and in us. Many people tell us our life is just beginning, and though we feel old at 35, I guess in reality we are only starting to live. I’m so glad we decided to open our hearts to what God was speaking to us. He certainly has provided for us through it all. I love you!

Leave a Reply

