Learning life lessons while writing – part 1

29 04 2010

Yesterday, I thought I was almost done with the next chapter in my novel. Unfortunately, I was wrong. I had the scene all set up in my head and knew where I wanted it to go. I had the characters in place and the action was all ready to go, along with some good points of background and character development. I was sure everything was just right. But then, as I saw where the chapter went and where things had to go from there, I realized there was a much better and more natural way to do things. So, while the story was still going in the same general direction and the same background and character development is there, I had to turn the car around and take a different path to get there. Added a character, took some background descriptive text and revealed it during a conversation instead, and in the end, I had a much better chapter than what I had started out with.

Sometimes life is like that, too. Actually, most of the time. We may think we have everything all planned out and know where things are going. We may dot our I’s and cross all our T’s and think everything is under control. And the next thing you know, bam, life happens. A lost job. An illness. A death in the family. The stock market crashes. And all you can do is try to pick up the pieces and chart a new course.

Of course, if we are honest, we all know things are never “under control” in our lives. There are too many variables and too many outside influences for any one to truly be in control of their lives. Only God, who knows all and sees all, can truly be in control. To go back to the writing metaphor, only God knows all the characters, all the backstory, and where the story is headed. Only when we are willing to give up control are we able to begin to truly find peace. If you want your story to have a “happy ending,” let God take control and give your life to Him.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6 (New International Version)

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 04 2010
Julie Gorman

Wow…You’re right our posts were similar. Great job! Love how God confirms His truth!

30 04 2010
Erin

Thanks for posting this. After yesterday, eventually I came to this realization. I cannot control what other people do, but I can control who I put in control. And when I let go to God He certainly brings me peace.

Leave a Reply

