Let me be your “candyman”

15 09 2010

On Friday, I received my first shipment of books to review from Suspense Magazine. Inside were seven “hits” of my favorite drug: books. As soon as I saw the box on the porch, my salivary glands started to kick into overdrive. As I tore open the box, my voracious appetite was almost too much to control. Quickly I pulled the contents out of the box. As I glimpsed the covers and read the titles, I was nearly salivating.

I’ve never taken any recreational drugs so I can’t say for sure, but I imagine the rush I get when getting new books is akin to the “high” drug users feel. You should see me in a bookstore. I’m like a kid in a candy store. You really should see me in Half Price Books.

For those of you who aren’t lucky enough to have the greatest creation ever in your area, let me tell you about Half Price Books. From the name of the store, it probably is pretty evident. It’s a used bookstore which sells most books for half price or less. So if the cover price of a paperback is $5, you can get it for $2.50. Hard cover books are usually less than half price. They also have clearance sections where you can get paperbacks for $1 and hard cover for as cheap as $3. It really is a haven for those of use who get our “highs” the literary way.

What is it about books that can create such a reaction in people? There are many reasons, but the most common one is the escapist value of books. When you read a book, you can go anywhere and become any one. Romance novels let you experience being rescued by a dashing hero. Mysteries let you solve  a murder. Science fiction lets you meet every manner of creature imaginable. Thrillers let you experience the thrill of being chased by sinister bad guys and in the end saving the day. In historical fiction, you can travel to any time period and feel what life was like.

Remember that “high” I was talking about earlier, when I opened the box of books? I want to help someone else get that feeling. I want someone to find one of my books on a shelf one day and feel that rush. I want someone to read my book and get so engrossed in the world I have created that they can’t wait to read my next book. I want someone to tear open a box of books, so hungry to get another “fix.” I want to be your “candyman.” Let me take you to another world. Let me engage your mind. Let me inform you. Let me make you question things. Let my books be your “drug.”

For anyone who wants a “hit,” you can head to www.scribd.com/tbusbey where I have the first four chapters of my novel posted. I also have the first three chapters on my blog here. You just have to page back a few pages and you can find them. I would love for you to read them if you haven’t yet. And any constructive criticism is appreciated. I am trying hard to learn as I write this, both from my own experience, from articles I read from other authors, and from comments people give me about my writing.

I hope you enjoy what you read and keep coming back for more.

Actions

Information

One response

16 09 2010
Tiffany Cole

That’s exactly how I felt the day my dad gave me the mail. He had this white box in his hand with all these college letters on top. I tossed the college letters to the side and went straight for the box. When I opened it, I spazzed at how warm and new the books smelt and felt. I showed all my books to my mostly unenthusiastic dad and sis. They support me, don’t get me wrong, but they also couldn’t comprehend why that box of wonderful books made me so happy. So far, I’ve written three book reviews for Suspense Mag. The first one will be published in the upcoming issue. After the third book, I took a break and am now reading some Stephen King short stories.

Also, I feel the same way. One day, my book will be on the shelves. Some people will not like it and will view it with disdain, but others will latch onto it the way I latched on to the box of books, the way I am now latching on to Stephen King. And I want that with everything inside of me!

Leave a Reply

