Dinner time at the writing table

4 01 2011

Yesterday, I found myself eating leftovers for lunch. Now, there is nothing remarkable about that useless bit of trivia. But what was remarkable was what I was eating as leftovers: sauerkraut and tortilla chips with a spinach artichoke dip. For those who have known me a long time, you may know there was a time when I would never have let sauerkraut or anything with spinach in it pass over my lips.

For years, my diet was very simple: pasta with red or white sauce, hamburgers, hot dogs, meatloaf, chicken nuggets and some fruit. Lots of peanut butter and jelly and lunch meat sandwiches for lunches. No vegetables, no chinese, very little mexican, nothing outside the very basic and boring. Then five and half years ago, I moved in with my fiancee Erin. She is a wonderful cook. She has opened my palatte to a whole new world of flavors and dining experiences. I’ll try just about anything now. No guarantees I’ll like it, but at least I’ll try it. And a lot of the things I have tried I have liked.

Now, I wonder why I wasted all those years eating boring, bland foods when I could have been trying new things. I still love some of my old favorites: meatloaf and spaghetti and pizza. But I’ve added some new favorites: enchiladas, shrimp pasta, and many more.

In case you couldn’t tell, I can be a pretty stubborn creature of habit. Once I get in my comfort zone, it can be very hard to budge me. But that’s something I’ve improved about myself in recent years in all areas of my life, not just my eating habits. That’s why I finally started writing again. For years I was too busy and too afraid of failure to really write. Now, in 2010, I finally got back to writing, with this blog and with my novel and other works in progress. It is a daily effort to keep myself motivated to pursue change, to not procrastinate, to tackle whatever challenge lays before me. That’s one of my big goals for the  new year – to keep moving forward, to keep writing and to make positive change for myself and my family in 2011. I plan to take a big bite out of life in the new year. I can’t wait to see what it tastes like.

Actions

Information

3 responses

4 01 2011
Erin Al-Mehairi

Awww, sweetie! I’m so proud of all the new things you are trying in the food arena and in life!! When you open up yourself, and new doors, and embrace change….life can be that much sweeter!! I know you love my baking, but SO happy you are eating spinach and sauerkraut. It’s amazing!! I hope everyone that knows you, gets to know the NEW you in 2011!! People need to catch up!

4 01 2011
Christina

Wow Tim, that surprises me…I guess from reading your writing, you seem very worldly, and cultured..and I get the feel (from your extrordinary research I surmise) that you have actually experienced the cultures you write about..Well, anyhow well done in your writing, stepping out and taking the plunge..Also, cool to see you’re broadening your horizons in the the food arena..Who couldn’t with Erin’s culinary skills..Best Wishes! christina

5 01 2011
Tiffany T. Cole

I hope your plans for 2011 come to fruition! I can also be pretty solid in my comfort zone, but experiencing new things is not only good for you as a person, but good for writing.

Leave a Reply

