Writing – It’s all in the family

7 01 2011

There is a saying that the family that prays together stays together. And there likely is a lot of truth to that. But what about the family that writes together? I only ask because, well, everyone in our family likes to write. I’m two-thirds of the way through the first draft of my first novel with several other Works in Progress in various stages of …, well, progress. Erin, my fiancee, is also a writer and is working on a children’s picture book, as well as a related chapter book for young readers. And all of our kids love to write, too. Even Addie, our 3-year-old, who obviously can’t really write yet, but she certainly can make up stories as she plays with her dolls or sings her stream-of-consciousness songs that certainly tell stories, too.

I am so excited about Erin writing her books. She had been wanting to write a children’s book for years, but the perfect idea had never presented itself until now. It is a great idea, too. She was inspired but things around her and things she knows, which is always a great thing. It’s great to see her so excited and on fire to bring her idea to life.  I can’t wait to see her finished product in print. I can already see what it’s going to look like and picture it on bookstore shelves everywhere. So be sure to be on the lookout for Erin Al-Mehairi’s books on shelves at a store near you.

In a perfect world, we’ll both end up with published books in stores everywhere by the end of the year or sometime next year. I can see us doing joint book signings around Ohio, heck, how about around the country. A guy can dream, right? I have faith in her and I have faith in myself. I know we can do it. It’s just going to take a lot of hard work and maybe a little luck to make it all come together. The hard work part we can do. The luck, well, that is out of our hands. All we can do is do the hard work and then pray. Together.

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 01 2011
Erin Al-Mehairi

Thank you honey!! I sure hope we do pull it all together!! 🙂

7 01 2011
Lynne

Best of luck Tim & Erin!! Can’t wait to say…”I knew them before they became famous writers!”

17 01 2011
Erin Al-Mehairi

Thanks Lynne!! 🙂 We will give you first autographed copies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

