Book Review – The Skin Map by Stephen Lawhead

22 09 2011

The Skin Map

By Stephen R. Lawhead

Thomas Nelson

In Stores Now

For more than 20 years, Stephen Lawhead has been writing fantasy, science fiction and historial fiction. I was first introduced to Lawhead’s work in the late 1980s when I was in high school. My parents bought me Lawhead’s Pendragon Cycle, a retelling of the Arthurian legends in a Celtic setting combined with parts of the Atlantis myth. At that time, I was a huge fan of David Eddings and Stephen R. Donaldson and happily devoured the original three books in the series.

Lawhead has written more than a dozen novels in the last 20 years, but the only ones I ever read were the two additional books Lawhead added to the Pendragon Cycle in the 1990s. I had always wanted to read more of Lawhead’s work, but there always seemed to be something else on my “To-Read List” that pushed his further down. But when I read about his new series, The Bright Empire series, I moved the first book to the top of the list. The ambitious, five-book series combines fantasy and science fiction in a way no other author has ever attempted. Read the rest of this entry »

Book Review – The Seraph Seal by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner

13 09 2011

The Seraph Seal

By Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner

Thomas Nelson

In Stores Now

I’ve always been interested in apocalyptic, prophetic fiction. I’ll admit, I read the whole “Left Behind series. So when I saw the description of the new novel “The Seraph Seal,” I knew I had to give it a read.

In “The Seraph Seal” by Leonard Sweet and Lori Wagner, it’s the end of the world as we know it, and no one is feeling too fine. The story opens on Dec. 12, 2012, with the birth of “The Eight” – eight people born at the exact moment in time with the same birthmark who are the key to the future of the world.

Fast forward 36 years to 2048. Ancient prophecies are being fulfilled and the world is falling apart. Cultural history professor Paul Binder, one of “The Eight,” receives a mysterious letter that starts him on a journey that could lead humanity into a new age. Read the rest of this entry »

Book Review – The Betrayal by Jerry B. Jenkins

1 09 2011

The Betrayal

By Jerry B. Jenkins

Tyndale House Publishers

In Stores Now

Much of the world knows author Jerry B. Jenkins because he co-authored the best-selling Left Behind series with Tim LaHaye. However, Jenkins has authored dozens of other books, many of which have also topped sales charts. His newest book is likely to chart a similar course.

“The Betrayal” is the second book in the Precinct 11 trilogy. The story picks up immediately following the events of the first book in the series, 2010’s “The Brotherhood.” Hero police officer, Chicago Police Detective Boone Drake, is in the hospital after being injured in a shootout while transferring a witness who is key to the department’s case against one of the city’s biggest street gangs and crime syndicate. As Boone struggles with his physical injury, he also has to struggle with a difficult truth – someone in the department must have leaked information to the shooter. As he drifts in and out of the haze caused by his pain medication, he quickly realizes that someone very close to him is the suspected leak. Unable to believe that this person could be involved, Boone sets out to discover the truth, with the help of the few people he knows he can trust. Jenkins takes the reader and Boone down a twisted path as Boone investigates the leak and discovers things are not always as they appear. Read the rest of this entry »

%d bloggers like this: