Book Review – 7 Hours by various authors

12 07 2012

7 Hours

By Mike Dellosso, Tom Pawlik, Travis Thrasher, Ronie Kendig, Rene Gutteridge, James Andrew Wilson and Robin Parrish

Tyndale House

Available now

What would you do if could relive 7 hours of your life? Any 7 hours. What would you do? Would you seek to correct a mistake you had made? Would you spend time with a lost loved one? Would you get revenge on the person who you think ruined your life?

Those questions are at the heart of this unique collection of seven novellas from seven different authors. In each story, the enigmatic character who calls himself Thomas Constant appears to someone and offers them a unique proposition: they can go back and live any seven hours from their past, or they can live for seven more hours. Either way, after those seven hours, they will jump through time to the moment of their death.

The seven authors each take this intriguing concept and put their own spin on it. I had read previous works by three of the authors but several of the others are on my “To Read List,” so I was very excited when I first heard about this project earlier this year. The seven authors and the collection did not disappoint.

The seven stories in the collection are:

– Rearview by Mike Dellosso

– Escapement by Rene Gutteridge

– Teardrop by Travis Thrasher

– Recollection by Tom Pawlik

– Whole Pieces by Ronie Kendig

– All Of Our Dreams by James Andrew Wilson

– The Last Night of Alton Weber by Robin Parrish

Several of the stories had me in tears. The tales of true love, redemption and second chances tugged at my heart and really made me think. What more could you ask for from a story?

Online, you can purchase the seven novellas separately, but I would recommend buying the complete collection and reading them all. There is no particular order they need to be read in, other than to read Robin Parrish’s entry last, as it nicely ties together the six other stories

I have to admit that some of the stories resonated with me more than others, especially “Rearview” and  “Teardrop.” But overall, I was so impressed by this collection. I dare you to read these stories and not have to look at your own life and re-evaluate your priorities and how you spend your time.

On a scale of 1 to 5, I give 7 Hours a 5.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my fair and honest review.  

Book available for purchase at:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

