An interview with suspense author Keith Rommel

2 10 2012

Hi Keith, welcome to my world where we discuss all things thrilling and suspenseful. Thanks for joining us during your blog tour!

Thank you very much for having me! I hope you don’t mind if I make myself comfortable. I love all things thrilling and suspenseful.

Q:  Your book series, of which The Lurking Man is #2, is called The Thanatology Series. What does Thanatology mean and how does it relate to your books?

A: Thanatology is the scientific study of death and dying and the practices associated with it, including the needs of the terminally ill and their families.

I know the subject matter is dark, and it sounds as though it might be filled with blood and gore. But readers beware. Although there is a sense of eerie horror that lingers throughout both stories, suspense is the predominant drivers. The Cursed Man (book 1) was conceived from a mind that believed the entity of Death was in love with him. And in The Lurking Man (book 2) is told through the eyes of a woman that is so disillusioned and consumed with addictions, that when she is confronted by Death and given a second chance at life, she fails to understand that when you make a deal with Death, there is a price to be paid…

Thanatology, as applied to the series is merely a theme that interconnects each book in a subtle way. The unique thing about the series is that it can be read in any order.

Q: Have stories of the Grim Reaper always inspired you?  Who are some of your favorite authors of all time or favorite spooky stories?

A: I have been intrigued by the Grim Reaper and what happens to us in the afterlife for as long as I can remember. I relish Wednesday and Friday nights where I can watch my favorite “ghost shows”, which include Ghost Hunters, Ghost Adventures, and the Dead Files. Sometimes the evidence these people collect is shocking and it makes me wonder…

I am a big fan of Anne Rice and Stephen King and I’ve read just about everything they’ve written.

Q: Do you think your writing is inspired by any authors or resembles a certain style of writing?

A: I think most writers are influenced by any great author they read. I can’t remember where I heard this, but it is said that you should take your most influential author and retype their book into manuscript format so that you can “see” what approach that author took to write their novel. I actually did this and learned a lot from it.

Q: How did you begin writing?

A: I laughed when I first read this question. It somehow reminded me of when I was a kid. I walked to school everyday and I would often complain to my parents about the long journey. My father would look at me, and with a grin he would say, “I had to walk to school, too. But I did it in the rain and uphill. Both ways.”

Unlike what my father did to me as a young boy to awe and inspire my imagination, I wish I had some amazing story to share about how this all started. But the simple truth is that I began writing in my early twenties and was inspired to do so by someone I worked with. He wrote flash fiction and shared it with me on a daily basis. The excitement on his face was obvious and his accomplishments were contagious. I caught the bug and have had it ever since.

Q: How do you hope your book makes the reader feel?

A: I want the readers to feel angry, fearful, sad, sympathetic, hopeful and joyful. The protagonists are dragged through the emotional wringer and it is my intent to pull the reader through it with them.

Q: What is coming in the series in the future?

A: The next installment in the Thanatology series is due around summer 2013. I’ve tentatively entitled it The Ensnared Man. This book is going to introduce Death as a little boy and an old woman that are working in tandem. The characters’ ages are a representation of the beginning and the end of life.

Q: Do you have other books in the works or ideas for future publications or novels?

A: I have a fast paced thriller about tragedy and revenge coming out sometime at the end of this year or the beginning of next year entitled You Killed My Brother. For me, this has been one of the easiest and most pleasing books to write. Also, coming next year I have a novel and graphic novel coming out entitled Among the People. This story shows the inner workings of hell and what happens to an angel that fell from grace with Satan, and has now in this, the present day, fallen from the grace of hell.

Q: What do you like to do most in your free time? (…when you have free time!)

A: I’m an avid comic book collector and reader. A grade school teacher suggested I read comic books to overcome a learning disability turned me onto this hobby. To this day, my childhood inner nerd screams for attention and I can’t wait for Wednesday’s because that is what I have come to know as Comic Day (when new comics arrive)!

Q: Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?

A: Write, rewrite and write some more. The Cursed Man took me five years to write and The Lurking Man took me about a year and a half. Be persistent and don’t give up on your dream. Always continue to try and better yourself by reading such books as Self-Editing For Fiction Writers and join writer help sites such as the Critique Circle. Have other writers critique your work and see what they’re doing.

Q: Since it’s October and we are upon the “spooky” season…what is your favorite “spooky” guilty pleasure?

A: People are so going to so cringe at this, but I have two kids. I often like to jump out and scare them (as they do to me)!

Q: Can readers connect with you? Where?

A: Readers and writers alike can connect with me through my website: http:keithrommel.weebly.com through Twitter: @Keithrommel. and on Goodreads (insert link over Goodreads) http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1126569 . If you have a question about something I’ve written, please send me a note. If you have a question about the writing bizz, I’m always happy to off advice. I hope everyone picks up a copy of The Lurking Man & The Cursed Man today!

I always welcome comments and questions and enjoy helping other writers in any way I can.

Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and I wish you the best of luck on your blog tour and with your launch of The Lurking Man!

Thank you for having me, and I encourage everyone to give The Cursed Man and The Lurking Man a read. This is intelligent fiction that will challenge everyone’s imagination.

About The Lurking Man:

Cailean stands beneath a spotlight in a blinding snowstorm. She has no idea where she is or how she got there, but she senses something moving around her in the darkness outside the light.

When the ominous presence calling himself Sariel makes himself known, he declares that he is Death Incarnate and that Cailean has died. He has taken her to the Aperture, a place between the living and the dead, where he will force her to face the sins of her past in exchange for twenty-four hours of life to try and right her wrongs. But what she must do in return for this precious time is unthinkable.

About the Thanatology Series:

Rommel’s series is titled due to Thanatology being a study that explores death and dying. Rommel has taken this science to a fictionalized, gothic-style horror level that may leave you breathless and unable to stop your mind from contemplating how you live your own life.

The books are grouped in the series due to the nature of the theme, but each book may be read independently. “Those who read in order will be able to catch glimpses from previous book(s), but it is not dependent upon each individual story,” Rommel said.

The Cursed Man and The Lurking Man are released by Sunbury Press. Book three in the Thanatology series is on schedule for a summer 2013 release. The Cursed Man is currently being considered as a feature film.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Keith Rommel is a native of Long Island, New York and currently lives with his family in Port Saint Lucie, Florida. Rommel is a retail manager and has enjoyed collecting comic books since he was a child (a hobby inspired by a teacher in grade school to help overcome a reading comprehension disability).  He enjoys watching the New York Giants and writing how-to articles for other authors.

To learn more about Rommel and his books, please visit http://keithrommel.weebly.com.

Amazon ~ Available as a Kindle book or paperback

http://www.amazon.com/Keith-Rommel/e/B004FGPDL6/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

Barnes & Noble ~ Available as a Nook book or paperback

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/keith-rommel

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

